The University of Iowa

Critical Language Scholarships for Undergraduates and Graduates


The Critical Language Scholarship (CLS) Program is an intensive overseas language and cultural immersion program for American students enrolled at U.S. colleges and universities. The fully-funded program held in country includes intensive language instruction and structured cultural enrichment experiences designed to promote rapid language gains equivalent to one year of college language instruction.

U.S. Citizens; Undergraduate or Graduate level--must be enrolled at time of application. All disciplines.

Deadline:  Applications are due November 16, 2021 at 8:00pm Eastern/7 p.m. CST -- please contact IP grants for an advising appointment by mid-October

Duration: 8-10 Weeks (Summer Intensive Program)

CLS Application

Want help with your application? 

International Programs has dedicated staff to give you tips on how to write a strong application.  Make an appointment with Dr. Karen Wachsmuth by completing and returning the Preliminary Application Form to

Other resources    

Eligible languages and levels

No prior study required:

Azerbaijani, Bangla, Hindi, Indonesian, Korean, Punjabi, Swahili, Turkish, Urdu

One year of prior study:

Arabic, Persian, Portuguese

Two years of prior study:

Chinese, Japanese, Russian

Featured CLS Winner

Critical Language Scholarship overview from Alex Bare, University of Iowa graduate. Alex’s success with CLS helped him win a Fulbright U.S. Student Program award to serve as an English Teaching Assistant in Colombia.