University of Iowa

Spring 2019 Pre-Arrival Webinar Series

The Pre-Arrival Webinar Series is an optional webinar series provided to incoming international students before they arrive in Iowa City. The Pre-arrival Webinar series will prepare incoming international students to:

  • Arrange arrival plan for traveling to and living in Iowa City
  • Understand orientation expectations and responsibilities
  • Transition to student life and academics at the University of Iowa  

How to Join a Webinar

To get started, you'll want to download the Zoom app here: https://zoom.us/download. It is recommended you try to connect 5-10 minutes prior to the start of the webinar in case you have any issues connecting. Learn more about how to join a webinar.

Schedule and Session Description

There are 5 topics in the Spring 2019 webinar series. Each webinar will be presented live twice a day (8:00am and 12:00pm). Below are some comparisons of times webinars will be presented in your time zone. 

  • 08:00 a.m. U.S. Central Daylight Savings Time

           08:00 El Salvador, 10:00 Bolivia, 17:00 Kenya, 18:30 India, 21:00 China/ Malaysia, 22:00 South Korea

           08:00 a.m. U.S. Central Standard Time (after November 4)  
           08:00 El Salvador, 10:00 Bolivia, 17:00 Kenya, 19:30 India, 22:00 China/ Malaysia, 23:00 South Korea

  • 12:00 pm U.S. Central Daylight Savings Time

            11:00 AM El Salvador, 13:00 Bolivia, 18:00 UK/ Nigeria, 19:00 Continental Europe, 20:00 Kenya/Saudi Arabia, 22:30 India

            12:00 p.m. U.S. Central Standard Time (after November 4)
            12:00 El Salvador, 14:00 Bolivia, 18:00 UK, 19:00 Continental Europe/ Nigeria, 21:00 Kenya/Saudi Arabia, 23:30 India

The live webinars will also be recorded and posted on our website after captioned (with subtitles). If you have any questions regarding the webinars, please contact Andrea Siebenmann (andrea-siebenmann@uiowa.edu). 
 

1. On-campus Housing and Off-campus Living

Date: Friday, September 21, 2018                    WEBINAR RECORDING:    YouTube         Tencent       PDF iconTranscription

Content Experts/Presenters: University Housing; Off-campus Student Support Committee
Session Description: In this webinar, participants will learn about on-campus housing deadlines and assignments, as well as the move-in process for international students living on campus. Participants will learn about the advantages and disadvantages of living in privately-owned housing located off-campus during their time at Iowa.  Presenters will discuss the best practices for obtaining off-campus housing, things to consider before signing a rental agreement, and ways to avoid potential pitfalls in the process. Participants will have the opportunity to ask questions at the end of the webinar.

 

2. Getting Started and Making Travel Arrangements

Date: Friday, October 5, 2018                            Recording of this webinar will be posted here very soon!

Content Experts/Presenters: International Student and Scholar Services
Session Description: In this webinar, participants will learn about iHawk and MyUI – two systems that students will use to start preparing for coming to the University of Iowa. Participants will also learn about the Pre-arrival Checklist. We will also offer some helpful tips and recommendations for preparing for your travel to the United States and the University of Iowa. Participants will have an opportunity to ask questions at the end of the webinar.

 

3. Understanding Orientation Expectations, Responsibilities, and Placement Tests

Date: Friday, November 2, 2018
Time: Each webinar takes 1 hour including Q&A.

8:00 a.m. Webinar Registration (Webinar ID: 726-727-072):
https://uiowa.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_PsLxme1rRKeQyiSZAdwnOw

12:00 p.m. Webinar Registration  (Webinar ID: 407-405-359):
https://uiowa.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_4GZWUOPqQIGnpZzBVZNf0g

Content Experts/Presenters: Orientation Services; International Student and Scholar Services; Graduate College; English as a Second Language Program
Session Description:  In this webinar, participants will learn about Success at Iowa (for undergraduate students) and International Student Orientation. Both graduate and undergraduate students will learn how to successfully participate in international student orientation, find campus resources, meet other students, and work out the logistics of being international students. Participants will also learn about the English Proficiency Exam (EPE), English Speaking Proficiency Assessment (ESPA), and Teaching Assistant Preparation in English (TAPE) for graduate students. There will be opportunities for questions at the end of the webinar.

 

4. Money Matters – University Billing & Health Insurance

Date: Friday, November 16, 2018
Time: Each webinar takes 1 hour including Q&A.

8:00 a.m. Webinar Registration (Webinar ID: 298-750-676):
https://uiowa.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_9_tmA5QUQZuvUnYj3vdVBw

12:00 p.m. Webinar Registration (Webinar ID: 854-181-700):
https://uiowa.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_kosjEk-JTa2JXEYtuQ-EDA

Content Experts/Presenters: University Billing Office; University Benefits Office
Session Description: In this webinar, participants will learn about University Bill (U-Bill), payment options, creating a guest account, and international student tax information. Participants will also learn about the requirements and options for health insurance. Participants will have an opportunity to ask questions at the end of the webinar.

 

5. Academic Expectations

Date: Friday, November 30, 2018
Time: Each webinar takes 1 hour including Q&A.

8:00 a.m. Webinar Registration (Webinar ID: 805-198-041):
https://uiowa.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_MMob9COpTr6TzBMBqIs2Ww

12:00 p.m. Webinar Registration (Webinar ID: 840-847-651):
https://uiowa.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_EuMCB_nDQFOmlsohy0DpPA

Content Experts/Presenters: Academic Advising Center; College of Liberal Arts and Sciences – Curriculum & Academic Policy
Session Description: In this webinar, participants will learn about academic expectations for studying in the U.S. Participants will learn about behaviors that will help them to be successful students and receive an introduction to academic advising at the University of Iowa. Participants will have an opportunity to ask questions at the end of the webinar.