The University of Iowa

4 from UI awarded Fulbrights

June 20th, 2011

By Diane Heldt, The Gazette

IOWA CITY – Four University of Iowa students and alumni have been awarded Fulbright U.S. Student Program scholarships to conduct research or teach English internationally in 2011-12, according to a recent announcement by the U.S. Department of State and the J. William Fulbright Foreign Scholarship Board. This year’s UI recipients are Sangeeta Tandon of Bettendorf; Luke Juran of Dyersville; Lia Yoon of Johnston; and Sarah Vi­ren of Tampa, Fla. Seven recent Grinnell College graduates also received Fulbright assistantships for international teaching and research assignments for 2011-12.

The Fulbright Program is the flagship international educational exchange program sponsored by the U.S. government. It is designed to increase mutual understanding between the people of the United States and people from other countries by providing participants the opportunity to study, teach and conduct research, exchange ideas and contribute to finding solutions to shared international concerns.

The primary source of funding for the Fulbright Program is an annual appropriation made by Congress to the U.S. Department of State’s Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs.

Recipients of Fulbright grants are selected on the basis of academic merit and leadership potential.