Art & the Afterlife: Fantasy Coffins by Eric Adjetey Anang

Saturday, September 16 at 12:00 pm to 5:00 pm → more dates through Sunday, December 10

Sunday, September 17 at 12:00 pm to 5:00 pm

Tuesday, September 19 at 10:00 am to 5:00 pm

Wednesday, September 20 at 10:00 am to 5:00 pm

Thursday, September 21 at 10:00 am to 9:00 pm

Friday, September 22 at 10:00 am to 5:00 pm

Saturday, September 23 at 12:00 pm to 5:00 pm

Sunday, September 24 at 12:00 pm to 5:00 pm

Tuesday, September 26 at 10:00 am to 5:00 pm

Wednesday, September 27 at 10:00 am to 5:00 pm

Thursday, September 28 at 10:00 am to 5:00 pm

Iowa Memorial Union (IMU), Black Box Theater, third floor
125 North Madison Street, Iowa City, Iowa
For the first time in over twenty years, UIMA will present a solo exhibition of work by a contemporary African artist. Through an installation of six representational “fantasy coffins” by the Ghanaian artist Eric Adjetey Anang, as well as video-recorded interviews with Anang and other coffin-makers from Ghana, and gallery labels providing further context, Art & the Afterlife explores one of the most celebrated (and debated) forms of African art today. As the exhibition demonstrates, the “afterlife” of Anang’s work today refers at once to a funerary tradition among Ga peoples of southern Ghana and to an artistic practice that reconfigures the scope and meaning of mortality and cultural identity.

This exhibition is curated by UIMA Curator of the Arts of Africa, Oceania, and the Americas Cory Gundlach.

 Support for Art & the Afterlife: Fantasy Coffins by Eric Adjetey Anang is provided by the Members Special Exhibition Fund.

Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to attend all University of Iowa-sponsored events. If you are a person with a disability who requires a reasonable accommodation in order to participate in this program, please contact the UIMA in advance at 319-335-1727.
Contact Info:
Elizabeth Wallace
elizabeth-m-wallace@uiowa.edu
319-353-2847