Critical Language Scholarships for Undergraduates and Graduates

Upcoming Workshops                                                                                                 

No upcoming workshops at this time.


The deadline for the 2014 Critical Language Scholarships Competition is:
Friday, November 15, 2013, 8:00 PM U.S. Eastern Time

The Critical Language Scholarship Program provides fully-funded group-based intensive language instruction and structured cultural enrichment activities overseas each summer for U.S. undergraduate and graduate students.

CLS Program languages include Arabic, Azerbaijani, Bangla, Chinese, Hindi, Indonesian, Japanese, Korean, Persian, Punjabi, Russian, Turkish, and Urdu. Levels available for each language are as follows:

  • Azerbaijani, Bangla, Hindi, Indonesian, Korean, Punjabi, Turkish, or Urdu: Beginning, intermediate or advanced level
  • Arabic or Persian: Advanced beginning, intermediate or advanced level
  • Chinese, Japanese, or Russian: Intermediate or advanced level

The CLS Program is part of a U.S. government effort to expand dramatically the number of Americans studying and mastering critical foreign languages. Students of diverse disciplines and majors are encouraged to apply. Participants are expected to continue their language study beyond the scholarship period, and later apply their critical language skills in their future professional careers.

The CLS Program is sponsored by the U.S. Department of State and Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs (ECA).

For additional information, visit the Critical Language Scholarship website or view the Critical Language Scholarship powerpoint.

Application Process

Please contact Karen Wachsmuth ( for more information.