2008: Speaker Biographies

Usha Balakrishnan

President & CEO, CARTHA

Christiana Bastos

Researcher, Institute of Social Sciences, University of Lisbon

Douglas E. Beardsley, MPH, CPHA

Director of the Johnson County (Iowa) Public Health Department

Stephen Bezruchka

School of Public Health and Community Medicine, U of Washington
Biography and CV

Heather Byers

Campus Director for Iowa's Face AIDS chapter, The University of Iowa

Zafrullah Chowdhury

Trustee, Gonoshashaya Kendra, Bangladesh
Biography and CV

Peter Damiano

Professor and Director, Health Policy Research, Public Policy Center
College of Dentistry, The University of Iowa

Charles Gardner

Senior Advisor on Research Strategy with the WHO, and an Adjunct Research Scientist with the Earth Institute at Columbia University.

Colin Gordon


Gabriel Gulis

Unit for Health Promotion Research, Institute of Public Health of the Faculty of Medical Sciences, University of Southern Denmark, Esbjerg, Denmark
Biography and CV

Mary Mincer Hansen


David Legge

Director, La Trobe China Health Program

Howard Waitzkin

Distinguished Professor, Departments of Sociology, Family and Community Medicine, and Internal Medicine, University of New Mexico.

Miles Weinberger

Professor, Pediatrics,  University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics

Joseph White

Department Chair, Luxenberg Family Professor of
Public Policy, and Director of the Center for Policy Studies; Case Western Reserve University, Department of Political Science